Federal Election 2015: Carleton riding results – Toronto

Summary: This is a new riding for 2015. Conservative MP and Employment Minister Pierre Poilievre, who represented the former riding of Nepean-Carleton since 2004, is running for re-election here. Star candidate Deborah Coyne is running for the Green Party. She defected from the Liberal party in 2015, after running for the Liberal leadership in 2013, and losing the Liberal nomination in Ottawa West-Nepean for this election.

Story continues below


Boundaries: This riding combines parts of the former Nepean-Carleton and Carleton-Mississippi Mills ridings. It includes Osgoode, Munster, Stittsville, Kars, North Gower and Greely.

Last Election: If this riding existed in 2011, the Conservatives would have taken 61.7 per cent of the vote, followed by the Liberals with 20.9 per cent.

History: The former riding of Nepean-Carleton elected Liberal David Pratt in 1997 and 2000. He was defeated in 2004 by Poilievre, who was then re-elected in 2006, 2008 and 2011. The former riding of Carleton-Mississippi Mills had also been Conservative since 2004, represented by Gordon O’Connor.

Demographics: The median income in this suburban riding is $47,616, highest in Ontario and second highest in the country.


Conservative: Pierre Poilievre, MP, Minister of Employment and Social Development

NDP: Kc Larocque, construction manager

Liberal: Chris Rodgers, federal public servant

Green: Deborah Coyne, Green Party policy advisor

Comments are closed.